Welcome to the Long Island Chapter of the Adirondack Mountain Club
ADK Long Island is a local chapter of the Adirondack Mountain Club. Our 900-plus members are passionate about the wilderness and outdoor recreation.  Volunteer-led outings such as hiking, paddling, cycling, cross-country skiing, and backpacking take us to the Hudson Highlands, Catskills, Adirondacks and places far afield, as well as Long Island. We are active in the maintenance and protection of our wilderness and waterways and welcome new members.


ADK Long Island

our newsletter


ADK logo

a question

to each otherma_grp_1


Upcoming Meetings

ADK LI meets monthly on the first Tuesday of the Month.  We do not meet during July and August.  All meetings are held at St. Luke’s Lutheran Church, 20 Candlewood Path, Dix Hills NY, 11746.  Meetings begin with hospitality at 7:30 followed by a monthly program.

Click here for directions to our meetings.

Upcoming Events:

Tuesday, December 1- Holiday Party

FOOD: Celebrate Our Holiday Party by bringing a snack/appetizer for potluck refreshments.
SHOW AND TELL: Bring one favorite item to briefly describe. A gadget, something unique or your favorite thing for hiking, biking or kayaking to share with others is preferable. Please share only ONE item.
GARAGE SALE: Also, if you want to bring hiking, biking or kayaking gear that you would like to sell, please label with your name and price.
We will be showing pictures on the big screen of a wonderful trip for 2016 in Sweden’s backcountry…
                                    COME AND JOIN THE FUN!!!

New Photo Albums !

Upcoming Outings

hikingOur Next Ten Outings Are Listed here.. For a full list and full descriptions go to our Outings page for more details

A- Sat Dec 5 Balsam Lake & Graham Mtns - Catskills
C Sat Dec 5 Setauket-Port JeffersonStation Greenway
C+ Sun Dec 6 Manhattan Walk
C+ Sun Dec 6 Long Island Greenbelt Trail
B- Sun Dec 13 Manhattan Christmas Windows
C+ Sun Dec 13 Stump Pond Loop - Smithtown
A- Sat Dec 26 Balsam Mtn - Catskills
B Fri Jan 1 New Year's Day hike on the Osborn Loop + Sugarloaf Hill
A Sat Jan 2 Slide Mtn - Catskills
NR Sat Jan 9 ADK Winterfest
B Sun Jan 10 Sears Bellows Park
NR Mon Jan 11 Cross Country Skiing in Craftsbury VT. Jan 11-18
A Fri Jan 15 Adirondack Winter Weekend Part 1
NR Fri Jan 29 Winter Outing on the Tug Hill Plateau
C+ Sat Feb 6 Avalon Park, Stony Brook
B+ Sun Feb 7 LI Pine Barrens Trail - Paumanok Path
A Fri Feb 12 Adirondack Winter Weekend Part 2
C+ Sat Feb 20 Caumsett State Historic Park
B+ Sun Feb 28 LI Pine Barrens Trail - Paumanok Path
A+ Sat Mar 5 Wittenberg, Cornell & Slide
C Sat Mar 12 Long Island Greenbelt Trail: Empowerment Hike #1
NR Fri Mar 18 Winter Weekend in the Catskills
A Sat Mar 19 Sugarloaf and Twin
C- Sun Mar 20 Target Rock National Wildlife refuge
C+ Sat Mar 26 Nassau - Suffolk Trail: Empowerment Hike #2
C+ Sat Apr 2 Spring Trail Maintenance Schunemunk Mountain
B Sat Apr 16 Spring Trail Maintenance - Catskills
B- Sat Apr 23 Fahnestock State Park: Empowerment Hike #3
C Sat May 7 Minnewaska State Park: Empowerment Hike #4
C+ Sat May 14 North South Lake, Catskills: Empowerment Hike #5